Missed Birthdays, Waiting and Hope

What does one do while they wait for their son, as birthdays pass, as holidays march on, and as day after day their inbox provides no news?

Psalm 130:5-6
I wait for the LORD, my soul waits, and in his word I put my hope. My soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen wait for the morning, more than watchmen wait for the morning.

Lamentations 3:25
The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him;

Psalm 25:4-5
Show me your ways, O LORD, teach me your paths; guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long

Galatians 6:9
Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

Psalm 40:1
I waited patiently for the LORD; he turned to me and heard my cry

Psalm 62:5-8
Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God;he is my mighty rock, my refuge. Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.

Romans 5:3-4
Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.

Hebrews 6:15
And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised.

It is so easy to become discouraged, but we are also so grateful to know that we don’t have to *stay* discouraged. We are able to move from that place of melting into the couch, doggedly refreshing our inbox, to a place of thanksgiving for the amazing things we have already witnessed and a place of hope for the amazing things that we will someday witness.

When James’ birthday passed, we sent him a card. It was so hard to pick one out(it is our first birthday gift! No pressure!!) but we settled on Superman because he is an outstanding orphan role model, and what little boy doesn’t like superheroes? The card came with a little wristband and we did our best to translate the words so that it would be easier for him or one of his attendants to read it. No word on whether he received it, or liked it, or hated it, or anything, but I pray that in some way receiving it helps him to feel loved by us already, and that he was able to celebrate his 6th birthday with increased joy.

photo (2)

In other news, did you see this? Our friend Sara Lucero and her husband have decided to adopt an infant domestically! We are very excited for them, and she started a blog about their process. Last week, she added a post in which she allowed me to answer a few questions for prospective adoptive moms. In the future, she will have other adoptive moms do the same! Sounds pretty great to me!

The interview

One thought on “Missed Birthdays, Waiting and Hope

  1. Karissa Tucker September 9, 2013 / 18:44

    This makes me teary. You guys are great parents. Praying for James’ swift arrival!

Leave a Reply

