Bringing James Home: What’s the Game Plan?

Hi friends! We will be flying back home with James into LAX on the 27th at 6:05 p.m. (assuming all goes as planned in country). Some folks are planning on being there to meet us, and though we can’t guarantee we will be at our best (20 hours in the air, yo), we would love to see you there before we go into semi-hiding if that’s the sort of thing you’d like to do.  🙂

In the last post, I mentioned that a few of you have asked if we would give you a heads up about  things to expect during the first few months and mention some areas where we will appreciate your understanding. Thank you for asking. Jason and I would just like to help temper some expectations and make sure we are clear about all of this being for James’ benefit and for the sake of helping make his transition into our culture (and America, and a family, and a new language, and new food, and new friends, and new routines, and you get the idea) as painless as possible. Praying for guidance on how best to do this.

Soooo, these are really helpful articles:

This article is just practical. I have tried to keep these things in mind when I’ve met other folks’ recently adopted children. I’ve definitely screwed up and said things that weren’t tactful, but the parents were gracious and we intend to be gracious, too. Okay, so don’t freak out. The more I look at this list, the more I really appreciate it.

This list goes into more of the why these things are important. I posted it in the past:

This article is also full of things to be aware of. The author is not super delicate, and again, I don’t want you to think we are going to be crazy, but we are going to exclusively be the ones feeding him, holding him, disciplining him, comforting him, etc. and we aren’t going to be making concessions on that until we are sure he understands who is who in the zoo.

This one is written TO adoptive parents, but if you’re interested in getting a taste for what we are in for, this might be interesting to you:

Are you overwhelmed? Please don’t be. We love you and we know you love us, so we will all make it through in one piece! We are looking forward to the day when we will hit a sort of “normal” that means we won’t have to think twice about staying over with friends and family or whether a crowd is “too much.”

 

8 thoughts on “Bringing James Home: What’s the Game Plan?

  1. Leah Sweet March 28, 2014 / 23:34

    Hahaha. “not super delicate.” Yup. I would say that is accurate. 😉 Go bring your beautiful boy home. Congratulations mama!!!! I am SO thrilled for you. One less!!!!!!!!!!

    • camorlinga March 28, 2014 / 23:59

      Yes!! I love the way you call ’em as you see ’em! Thank you for your example as an adoptive, Christian mom and for giving me a boost of confidence in my gut-feelings. 🙂

      • Leah Sweet April 2, 2014 / 22:45

        Haha. My pleasure. You must be so excited….I can’t wait to be matched. Trying not to count the days (ok minutes….sigh….)

      • camorlinga April 3, 2014 / 05:01

        Ha! As if that is possible 😉 Can’t wait to hear about your match and travel. The excitement just doesn’t diminish!

  2. Lynn Corbin April 2, 2014 / 20:04

    I am just so happy for you guys and wish we weren’t on the east coast so we could meet you!

    I read in one of your earlier blog posts that someone took photos and videos of your little boy while they were visiting the TRC and then sent them to you. Would you consider taking a few photos of our little girl? I would love to send you her photo! I know this really is a long shot, but I’m a desperate mama after waiting 7 months for our Article 16. 😉 My email is mrscorbin06@yahoo.com

    You are in my thoughts and prayers, and I can’t wait to hear all about your trip!

    Lynn

      • Lynn Corbin April 3, 2014 / 00:54

        Hi Danielle,

        I just responded to your first email. I’m so sorry I didn’t respond sooner! Thank you so, so much for your kindness!!!

Leave a Reply

